PROJECT

ATARI​

Automated Review Reports and Augmented Reality Interface for Retail

More and more users and companies complain about a lack of trust in the internet. The majority of internet users find it more difficult to assess the trust-worthiness of persons and companies on the Internet than when meeting face to face or visiting a stationary shop. Therefore, product reviews are one of the main decision criteria when buying products on the Internet today. Among other things, they serve to avoid possible disappointment by relying on the experiences of other customers. But since opinions on products are available on a variety of websites and  in high numbers, Internet users often cannot process the amount of reviews efficiently.

At the same time, the demands of E- commerce customers are changing in terms of product representation. Con-sumers increasingly want virtual app-lications, as these offer the customer the possibility to interact with the products in advance or to visualize them in the cor-responding context. Augmented Reality (AR) in particular has gained in im-portance in recent years and is now also establishing itself as an important tool in the sales and marketing environment. This applies not only to online, but also to stationary retail, since today the majority of customers in shops already use their smartphone to research additional in-formation about products on the Internet.

The objective of the ATARI project is to combine product reviews and AR in retail, i.e. product evaluation and visualisation, by (1) aggregating customer ratings for products across websites, automatically evaluating the ratings based on machine learning, processing the ratings into test reports, and (2) visualising the resulting data in a WebAR environment, in order to offer the customer the possibility of experiencing the information intuitively and interactively.

DURATION

01.03.2020 – 28.02.2022

 

PARTNER

690e229cb47b33585973d48c317a14a5.jpg

TRUSTAMI GMBH

TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITAET BERLIN

CHAIR OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION MANAGEMENT

TU-Berlin-Logo.png
ikm_blau.png
 

PUBLICATIONS

Riar, M., Korbel, J. J., Xi, N., Zarnekow, R. and Hamari, J. (2021).

The Use of Augmented Reality in Retail:

A Review of Literature.

54th Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (HICSS)
Publication link: https://bit.ly/38ib4To

Korbel, J. J. (2021).

Creating the Virtual:

The Role of 3D Models in the Product Development Process for Physical and Virtual Consumer Goods.

Innovation Through Information Systems. Volume I: A Collection of Latest Research on Domain Issues. pp. 492-507.

Publication link: https://bit.ly/3baLPCP

 

FUNDING

ATARI is funded as part of the "Pro FIT" programme by the

INVESTITIONSBANK BERLIN (IBB)

Logo_IBB_RGB_oC_1644x447.jpg

and co-funded by the

EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND [ERDF]

eu_efre_zusatz_recht_rgb_en.jpg

PROJEKT

ATARI​

Automatische Testberichte und Augmented Reality Interface für den Handel

Immer mehr Nutzer und auch Unter-nehmen beklagen sich über fehlendes Vertrauen im Internet. Der Großteil der Internetnutzer tut sich im Internet schwerer, die Vertrauenswürdigkeit von Personen und Unternehmen einzu-schätzen, als bei Begegnungen von Angesicht zu Angesicht oder bei dem Besuch eines stationären Ladens. Daher stellen Produktbewertungen heute eines der Hauptentscheidungskriterien bei dem Kauf von Produkten im Internet dar. Diese dienen u.a. dazu, mögliche Enttäuschung zu vermeiden, indem man sich auf die Er-fahrungen anderer Kunden verlässt. Auch wenn Meinungen zu Produkten in mehr als ausreichender Zahl vorhanden sind, können diese oft auf Grund der Vielzahl an Bewertungen von Internetnutzern nicht effizient verarbeitet werden.

Gleichzeitig ändern sich die Ansprüche der E-Commerce Kunden im Bereich der Produktrepräsentation. Verbraucher und Endkunden wünschen sich verstärkt virtuelle Anwendungen, da diese dem Kunden vorab die Möglichkeit bieten, mit den Produkten zu interagieren oder diese im entsprechenden Kontext zu visuali-sieren. Insbesondere Augmented Reality (AR) hat in den letzten Jahren an Be-deutung gewonnen und ist dabei sich auch im Verkaufs- und Marketingumfeld als wichtiges Instrument zu etablieren. Dies gilt nicht nur für den online, sondern auch für den stationären Handel, da heute bereits die Mehrzahl der Kunden im Laden ihr Smartphone nutzen, um zusätzliche Informationen zu Produkten im Internet zu recherchieren.

Im Rahmen des Projektes ATARI sollen diese beiden wichtigen Bestandteile im Handel, Produktbewertung und Produkt-visualisierung, zusammengebracht wer-den, indem (1) Kundenbewertungen zu Produkten Website-übergreifend aggre-giert, basierend auf maschinellem Lernen automatisch ausgewertet und zu Test-berichten aufgearbeitet werden, sowie (2) die daraus resultierenden Daten zu den einzelnen Kriterien innerhalb der Produktbewertungen in einer WebAR Umgebung visualisiert werden, um dem Kunden die Möglichkeit zu bieten, diese Informationen intuitiv und interaktiv zu erleben.

LAUFZEIT

01.03.2020 – 28.02.2022

 

PARTNER

TRUSTAMI GMBH

TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT BERLIN

FACHGEBIET INFORMATIONS- UND KOMMUNIKATIONSMANAGEMENT

TU-Berlin-Logo.png
ikm_blau.png
 

PUBLIKATIONEN

Riar, M., Korbel, J. J., Xi, N., Zarnekow, R. and Hamari, J. (2021).

The Use of Augmented Reality in Retail:

A Review of Literature.

54th Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (HICSS)
Link zur Publikation: https://bit.ly/38ib4To

Korbel, J. J. (2021).

Creating the Virtual:

The Role of 3D Models in the Product Development Process for Physical and Virtual Consumer Goods.

16th International Conference on Wirtschaftsinformatik

Link zur Publikation: https://bit.ly/3baLPCP

 

FÖRDERUNG

ATARI wird im Rahmen des Programms "Pro FIT" durch die

INVESTITIONSBANK BERLIN (IBB)

Logo_IBB_RGB_oC_1644x447.jpg

gefördert und kofinanziert durch den

EUROPÄISCHEN FOND FÜR REGIONALE ENTWICKLUNG [EFRE]

eu_efre_zusatz_rechts_rgb.jpg